top of page


1 September 2001 - Current format introduced for all new vehicles registered.

The format is made up of two letters, no space, two numbers, one space and three further letters.

  • First two letters - DVLA memory tag, identifying the area where the vehicle registered.  The first letter relates to the area, the second letter relates to the specific postal area.

  • The following two numbers indicate the period the vehicle was registered (This is known as the age identifier).

  • The last three letters are random.

Area where the vehicle was registered.  In this case it was registered within the Peterborough postal area

Age identifier.  In the case of this vehicle, it would have been registered between 1st March 2016 and 31st August 2016

These three letters are random letters

Below are the area codes and the postal area codes.

A - Anglia   

                AA, AB, AC, AD, AE, AF, AG, AH, AJ, AK, AL, AM, AN          AO, AP, AR, AS, AT, AU          AV, AW, AX, AY      

                                      Peterborough postal area                                              Norwich postal area           Ipswich postal area

B - Birmingham   

                         BA, BB, BC, BD, BE, BF, BG, BH, BJ, BK, BL, BM, BN, BO, BP, BR, BS, BT, BU, BV, BW, BX, BY            

                                                                                                                  Birmingham postal area


​C - Cymru


             CA, CB, CC, CD, CE, CF, CG, CH, CJ, CK, CL, CM, CN, CO             CP, CR, CS, CT, CU, CV            CW, CX, CY 

                                                              Cardiff postal area                                                       Swansea postal area                 Bangor postal area                                 

D - Deeside to Shrewsbury   

              DA, DB, DC, DD, DE, DF, DG, DH, DJ, DK               DL, DM, DN, DO, DP, DR, DS, DT, DU, DV, DW, DX, DY

                                   Chester postal area                                                                                               Shrewsbury postal area


E - Essex   

                          EA, EB, EC, ED, EE, EF, EG, EH, EJ, EK, EL, EM, EN, EO, EP, ER, ES, ET, EU, EV, EW, EX, EY                                                                                                                                              Chelmsford postal area

F - Forest and Fens   


                                 FA, FB, FC, FD, FE, FF, FG, FH, FJ, FK, FL, FM, FN, FP          FR, FS, FT, FV, FW, FX, FY

                                                                                Nottingham postal area                                                                Lincoln postal area


G - Garden of England              


              GA, GB, GC, GD, GE, GF, GG, GH, GJ, GK, GL, GM, GN, GO                  GP, GR, GS, GT, GU, GV, GW, GX, GY

                                                             Maidstone postal area                                                                                                 Brighton postal area


H - Hampshire and Dorset   


            HA, HB, HC, HD, HE, HF, HG, HH, HJ                 HK, HL, HM, HN, HO, HP, HR, HS, HT, HU, HV, HW*, HX, HY  

                                 Bournemouth postal area                                                                                                Portsmouth postal area

                                                                                                                                                                                                  (*HW - exclusive to Isle of Wight residents ) 

K - Region not specified


                  KA, KB, KC, KD, KE, KF, KG, KH, KJ, KK, KL                   KM, KN, KO, KP, KR, KS, KT, KU, KV, KW, KX, KY

                                Borehamwood postal area (formally Luton)                                                                  Northampton postal area


L - London  


           LA, LB, LC, LD, LE, LF, LG, LH, LJ                   LK, LL, LM, LN, LO, LP, LR, LS, LT                  LU, LV, LW, LX, LY

                               Wimbledon postal area                                 Borehamwood postal area (formally Stanmore)                                Sidcup


M - Manchester and Merseyside 


            MA, MB, MC, MD, ME, MF, MG, MH, MJ, MK, ML, MM, MO, MP, MR, MS, MT, MU, MV, MW, MX, MY

                                                                                                                 Manchester postal area

                                                                                                      ( MN and MAN reserved for the Isle of Man ) 


N - North   


          NA, NB, NC, ND, NE, NF, NG, NH, NJ, NK, NL, NM, NN, NO                  NP, NR, NS, NT, NU, NV, NW, NX, NY

                                                          Newcastle postal area                                                                                                   Stockton postal area



O - Oxford   


                    OA, OB, OC, OD, OE, OF, OG, OH, OJ, OK, OL, OM, ON, OO, OP, OR, OS, OT, OU, OV, OW, OX, OY

                                                                                                                        Oxford postal area


P - Preston 


               PA, PB, PC, PD, PE, PF, PG, PH, PJ, PK, PL, PM, PN, PO, PP, PR, PS, PT                       PU, PV, PW, PX, PY

                                                                                   Preston postal area                                                                                                Carlisle postal area

R - Reading   

                         RA, RB, RC, RD, RE, RF, RG, RH, RJ, RK, RL, RM, RN, RO, RP, RR, RS, RT, RU, RV, RW, RX, RY

                                                                                                                                  Theale postal area


S - Scotland   


                                 SA, SB, SC, SD, SE, SF, SG, SH, SJ               SK, SL, SM, SN, SO               SP, SR, SS, ST        

                                                             Glasgow postal area                                          Edinburgh postal area                  Dundee postal area


                                                                SU, SV, SW                                           SX, SY

                                                                                        Aberdeen postal area                                     Inverness postal area


V - Severn Valley   


                          VA, VB, VC, VD, VE, VF, VG, VH, VJ, VK, VL, VM, VN, VO, VP, VR, VS, VT, VU, VV, VW, VX,  VY

                                                                                                                       Worcester postal area


W - West of England  


                                        WA, WB, WC, WD, WE, WF, WG, WH, WJ                                     WK, WL

                                                                                 Exeter postal area                                                                           Truro postal area

                                                     WM, WN, WO, WP, WR, WS, WT, WU, WV, WW, WX, WY

                                                                                                                           Bristol postal area


Y - Yorkshire   

            YA, YB, YC, YD, YE, YF, YG, YH, YJ, YK               YL, YM, YN, YO, YP, YR, YS, YT, YU                YV, YW, YX, YY                                           Leeds postal area                                                                    Sheffield postal area                              Beverley postal area


bottom of page